Join the Campaign

APhA presents Immunization Champion Award winners

The 2017 awards recognized individuals and organizations within the profession of pharmacy that have made extraordinary contributions towards improved vaccination rates within their communities. The awards were presented at the APhA Annual Meeting, March 24-27, 2017, San Francisco, CA. 

*Read about the 2017 Immunization Champions in the 2017 awards booklet.

*Listen to what our 2017 Immunization Champions had to say about their award on our APhA YouTube channel.



Individual Practitioner
National Winner
Jeff Jackson (Richmond, KY)
Alanna Isobe (Honolulu, HI)
Honorable Mention
Mihran Chaprazian (Belmont, MA)
National Winner
Norton Sound Health Corporation (Nome, AK)
Honorable Mention
Walgreen Co. (Deerfield, IL)
National Winner
Margie Padilla (El Paso, TX)
Honorable Mention
Michigan Pharmacists Association (Lansing, MI)
Community Outreach
National Winner
Duquesne University School of Pharmacy (Pittsburgh, PA)
Pharmacy Team Member
National Winner
Celia Sadler (Franklin, VA)
Award Background:

Award Categories:

There are six (6) categories of recognition including: 

  • Individual practitioners: pharmacists 
  • Corporations / institutions: community pharmacies, hospital pharmacies, long-term care pharmacies, clinics, etc. 
  • Partnerships with other healthcare providers and public health: collaborations between pharmacies/pharmacists and immunization coalitions, physicians, nurses, public health departments, etc to address an immunization issue and/or provision of immunization services 
  • Community outreach: activities conducted within your community to increase immunization awareness and delivery 
  • Friend of Pharmacy: an individual who is a non-pharmacist and has supported, facilitated or advocated for pharmacists' role in immunizations. Individuals could include a coalition leader, community leader, policy maker, physician, public health official, reporter, etc. 
  • Pharmacy Team Member: an individual who is not a pharmacist nor a student pharmacist who has been an advocate for immunizations and who has proactively identified at-risk patients for vaccination. Individuals could include a pharmacy technician, store manager, store cashier, etc.

Nominees are evaluated in the following areas related to their immunization activities:

  • Impact: how did their work support / utilize pharmacists to improve immunization rates, education or access. 
  • Collaboration: describe the extent of collaboration with other providers and/or organizations within their community or practice setting 
  • Originality: describe the creativity, innovation and originality utilized by the nominee in achieving increased vaccination rate, access and/or information within their community 
  • Challenges and Opportunities: describe the challenges and opportunities that the nominee encountered and how they addressed those issues. 

Previous Immunization Champions

2016: Learn about our 2016 Immunization Champions.

2015: Learn about our 2015 Immunization Champions.

2014: Learn about our 2014 Immunization Champions.

2013: Learn about our 2013 Immunization Champions.

2012: Learn about our 2012 Immunization Champions.

Bottom Center Aligned
  • Join the Campaign
  • Take Action ALT Text
  • Get the facts ALT text
October 17, 2017
October 17, 2017
APhA Executive Vice President and CEO Thomas E. Menighan, BSPharm, MBA, ScD (Hon), FAPhA, testified in a hearing about drug prices held by the...
Gag clauses, lack of provider status hinder cost-effective care, importation is no solution, APhA CEO says
August 14, 2017
August 14, 2017
Tennessee saw major provider status legislation take effect on July 1. “Pharmacists as Providers” (HB 405/SB 461) gives Tennessee pharmacists formal...
‘Pharmacists as providers’ legislation went into effect July 1
July 13, 2017
July 13, 2017
The Massachusetts Senate and House of Representatives health care committee held a hearing on legislation that would expand the scope of practice...
Hearing held last month included testimony from pharmacists and physicians